AGL 5.50 Decreased By ▼ -0.10 (-1.79%)
ANL 8.69 Decreased By ▼ -0.21 (-2.36%)
AVN 75.84 Decreased By ▼ -1.14 (-1.48%)
BOP 5.18 Decreased By ▼ -0.07 (-1.33%)
CNERGY 4.51 Decreased By ▼ -0.14 (-3.01%)
EFERT 81.09 Decreased By ▼ -0.13 (-0.16%)
EPCL 50.00 Decreased By ▼ -0.03 (-0.06%)
FCCL 12.53 Decreased By ▼ -0.63 (-4.79%)
FFL 5.52 Decreased By ▼ -0.18 (-3.16%)
FLYNG 6.95 Decreased By ▼ -0.15 (-2.11%)
FNEL 4.65 Decreased By ▼ -0.11 (-2.31%)
GGGL 8.58 Decreased By ▼ -0.22 (-2.5%)
GGL 14.25 Decreased By ▼ -0.35 (-2.4%)
HUMNL 5.59 Decreased By ▼ -0.08 (-1.41%)
KEL 2.54 Decreased By ▼ -0.09 (-3.42%)
LOTCHEM 27.98 Decreased By ▼ -0.67 (-2.34%)
MLCF 23.70 Decreased By ▼ -0.99 (-4.01%)
OGDC 71.64 Decreased By ▼ -0.87 (-1.2%)
PAEL 15.09 Decreased By ▼ -0.28 (-1.82%)
PIBTL 4.89 Decreased By ▼ -0.09 (-1.81%)
PRL 15.81 Decreased By ▼ -0.39 (-2.41%)
SILK 1.07 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
TELE 8.94 Decreased By ▼ -0.26 (-2.83%)
TPL 7.03 Decreased By ▼ -0.22 (-3.03%)
TPLP 18.31 Decreased By ▼ -0.39 (-2.09%)
TREET 21.03 Decreased By ▼ -0.67 (-3.09%)
TRG 134.55 Decreased By ▼ -2.00 (-1.46%)
UNITY 16.63 Decreased By ▼ -0.39 (-2.29%)
WAVES 9.32 Decreased By ▼ -0.57 (-5.76%)
WTL 1.36 Decreased By ▼ -0.05 (-3.55%)
BR100 4,155 Decreased By -70.3 (-1.66%)
BR30 15,289 Decreased By -229.2 (-1.48%)
KSE100 41,613 Decreased By -537.4 (-1.28%)
KSE30 15,360 Decreased By -228.1 (-1.46%)
Follow us

ISLAMABAD: The Islamabad High Court (IHC) on Thursday issued notices to the speaker National Assembly, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), and others on a petition filed by the PTI against the acceptance of resignations of its lawmakers in the parliament in “piecemeal”.

A single bench of Acting Chief Justice Amir Farooq on Thursday heard PTI Central Secretary General Asad Umar’s petition to direct the ECP to declare all the resignations as accepted, to de-notify all the PTI MNAs and declare the seats as vacant.

Advocate Faisal Chaudhry informed the bench that former deputy speaker NA Qasim Suri on April 11 had accepted the resignations of all the PTI parliamentarians. He then submitted Suri’s April 13 order and the letters of all the 123 MNAs.

The then deputy speaker order stated: “I have received the resignations of 125 members of National Assembly belonging to the PTI as earlier announced in the house by Makhdoom Shah Mehmood Qureshi, deputy parliamentary leader, PTI, on April 11, 2022.”

“I have perused all the resignations and reached the conclusion that all of them except the resignation of Prince Muhammad Nawaz Allai, NA-12 and Jawaid Hussain, NA-47, are voluntary and genuine,” it said. The order added that Suri had accepted these resignations and ordered to notify the same in the Gazette.

After hearing the arguments, Justice Amir Farooq issued notices to Speaker NA Raja Pervaiz Ashraf, the ECP, and the secretary Cabinet Division. He also instructed the NA secretary to produce all the records in court through an authorised officer and adjourned the hearing till August 16.

The petition stated that the parliamentary committee of his party had decided to resign from NA collectively as it wanted to get a fresh mandate but the resignations were being accepted on the basis of pick and choose.

It maintained that the speaker National Assembly had no authority to keep the matter of resignations pending. Therefore, the petitioner prayed before the court to direct the ECP to de-notify all MNAs of the PTI and declare the seats as vacant.

The petition stated that the present speaker National Assembly had no “lawful authority or jurisdiction” to conduct the process of verification of the resignations of 123 PTI MNAs as they had already been accepted by the then deputy speaker, Suri.

“Hence, the impugned act of the present speaker is unsustainable being illegal, unconstitutional, unwarranted, malafide, discriminatory, and politically motivated.” Raja Pervez Ashraf was “bound to notify” the resignations “en bloc” to the ECP, it added.

All the PTI lawmakers, on April 11, had resigned en masse, two days after former Prime Minister Imran Khan was ousted from the top office after the no-confidence motion moved by the joint opposition in the parliament against him succeeded.

Raja Pervaiz Ashraf after assuming the charge of Speaker NA decided to verify the resignations of the 123 PTI lawmakers, by calling them individually or in small groups. However, on July 27, he accepted the resignations of 11 lawmakers of the party. Ali Muhammad Khan, Fazal Muhammad Khan, Shaukat Ali, Fakhar Zaman Khan, Farrukh Habib, Jamil Ahmed Khan, Muhammad Akram Cheema, Abdul Shakoor Shad, Dr Shireen Mazari, Shandana Gulzar Khan, and Ijaz Ahmed Shah are the MNAs who have been de-notified from their seats.

Copyright Business Recorder, 2022


Comments are closed.

PTI plea on phase-wise acceptance of resignations: IHC issues notices to NA speaker, ECP, others

ECC approves wheat import of 450,000MT from Russia

Time to 'say no' to cartels, says PM, as energy bill touches $27bn

Rupee falls 0.1% against US dollar

UAE, Ukraine to start talks on bilateral trade deal

Oil prices rise after OPEC+ keeps output steady, Russian price cap imposed

Taliban acting defence minister holds talks with UAE president

England beat Pakistan by 74 runs in Rawalpindi test

Cotton arrival falls 40% year-on-year

Engro Corp to pursue potential investment opportunity in tower infrastructure sector

Big tax defaulters: FBR to auction off properties, trademarks