AIRLINK 74.64 Decreased By ▼ -0.21 (-0.28%)
BOP 5.01 Increased By ▲ 0.03 (0.6%)
CNERGY 4.51 Increased By ▲ 0.02 (0.45%)
DFML 42.44 Increased By ▲ 2.44 (6.1%)
DGKC 87.02 Increased By ▲ 0.67 (0.78%)
FCCL 21.58 Increased By ▲ 0.22 (1.03%)
FFBL 33.54 Decreased By ▼ -0.31 (-0.92%)
FFL 9.66 Decreased By ▼ -0.06 (-0.62%)
GGL 10.43 Decreased By ▼ -0.02 (-0.19%)
HBL 114.29 Increased By ▲ 1.55 (1.37%)
HUBC 139.94 Increased By ▲ 2.50 (1.82%)
HUMNL 12.25 Increased By ▲ 0.83 (7.27%)
KEL 5.21 Decreased By ▼ -0.07 (-1.33%)
KOSM 4.50 Decreased By ▼ -0.13 (-2.81%)
MLCF 38.09 Increased By ▲ 0.29 (0.77%)
OGDC 139.16 Decreased By ▼ -0.34 (-0.24%)
PAEL 25.87 Increased By ▲ 0.26 (1.02%)
PIAA 22.20 Increased By ▲ 1.52 (7.35%)
PIBTL 6.80 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
PPL 123.58 Increased By ▲ 1.38 (1.13%)
PRL 26.81 Increased By ▲ 0.23 (0.87%)
PTC 14.01 Decreased By ▼ -0.04 (-0.28%)
SEARL 58.53 Decreased By ▼ -0.45 (-0.76%)
SNGP 68.01 Decreased By ▼ -0.94 (-1.36%)
SSGC 10.47 Increased By ▲ 0.17 (1.65%)
TELE 8.39 Increased By ▲ 0.01 (0.12%)
TPLP 11.05 Decreased By ▼ -0.01 (-0.09%)
TRG 63.21 Decreased By ▼ -0.98 (-1.53%)
UNITY 26.59 Increased By ▲ 0.04 (0.15%)
WTL 1.42 Decreased By ▼ -0.03 (-2.07%)
BR100 7,941 Increased By 103.5 (1.32%)
BR30 25,648 Increased By 196 (0.77%)
KSE100 75,983 Increased By 868.6 (1.16%)
KSE30 24,445 Increased By 330.8 (1.37%)

Key ally MQM-P announces decision to part ways with PTI

  • Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui addresses presser alongside Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari, Maulana Fazlur Rehman and Shehbaz Sharif
Published March 30, 2022

The Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P), a key ally of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), announced on Wednesday that it was joining the opposition ahead of a no-trust vote against Prime Minister Imran Khan, dealing a blow to the incumbent government.

MQM-P convener Dr Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui alongside Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) Chairman Bilawal Bhutto, Maulana Fazlur Rehman and Shehbaz Sharif addressed a presser on Wednesday.

Siddiqui termed it a "historic" day and said that the party has joined the opposition. "This time, we can strive for a democracy whose effects can reach the common people of Pakistan.

"We have prioritised Pakistan's interests over all individual interests," Siddiqui said.

In his address, Sharif thanked MQM-P and its workers who made this decision, adding that it was an important day because a joint opposition has come together and efforts "have been made for national unity".

Bilawal also addressed the press conference, saying that PPP and MQM-P have to work together under any condition, if they want to work for Karachi and Pakistan's prosperity.

"Imran Khan has now lost his majority. He is not the PM anymore. The parliament session is tomorrow. Let's hold voting tomorrow and settle this matter," Bilawal added.

Earlier, MQM-P leader Nasreen Jalil had said that the party had ratified the agreement with the opposition on the no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Imran Khan.

"Details of the agreement will be revealed in a press conference," she had said earlier on Wednesday.

MQM-P leader Senator Faisal Subzwari also tweeted that an agreement between the party and the united opposition had been finalised.

"The PPP's central executive committee and the MQM-P's coordination committee will ratify the agreement," he said.

Bilawal had also in his tweet said that the united opposition and MQM-P had reached an agreement.

PTI delegation conveys PM’s ‘message’ to MQM leaders

"Rabta committee MQM and PPP CEC will ratify said agreement. We will then share details with the media in a press conference tomorrow. Congratulations Pakistan," Bilawal said.

Meanwhile, the National Assembly is set to commence its session to hold a debate on the opposition's no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Imran Khan.

On Friday, the no-confidence resolution against Khan was accepted after 161 lawmakers voted in favour of it.

Bhootani too joins opposition: Zardari says Elahi won’t be able to form Punjab govt

Following this, Deputy Speaker Qasim Suri adjourned the session till March 31 (Thursday) during which debate will take place on the resolution.

Sharif tabled the no-confidence motion against PM after which counting took place.


Comments are closed.