KARACHI: The Democrats Panel once again swept the Karachi Press Club’s annual elections 2021-22 on Saturday.

Fazil Jamili of Jang Group and Muhammad Rizwan Bhatti of Business Recorder retained the slots of the President and the Secretary KPC, respectively. The Democrats Panel also won the seats of vice president, treasurer, joint secretary and all seven seats of the governing body. None of the candidates from the opponent groups - the United Journalists panel, and Independent panel - could win even a single slot.

Muhammad Rizwan Bhatti bagged the highest individual votes. He secured 841, while Fazil Jamili gained 785 votes. Election commissioner Dr Tauseef Ahmad Khan announced the results. He said a total 1,165 voters exercised their right of vote.

Nine votes were rejected by the election committee. The voting turnover stood at 76.4 percent, he said. The polling started at 9am and continued till 5 pm without any break.

The ruling Democrats pitched Abdul Rasheed for the vice president slot, Abdul Waheed Rajpur for Treasurer, M Aslam Khan for Joint Secretary. All of them won the polls.

The winning governing body members include Khalil Ahmad Nasir, M Liaqat Ali Mughal, Muhammad Farooq Sami, Syed Athar Hussain, Syeda Maimona Hamdani, Syed Nabeel Akhtar and Shazia Hassan.

On the other hand, the United Journalists Panel had nominated Khursheed Abbasi for President, Sameera for Vice President, M Arif Khan for Secretary, and Aslam Shah for Joint Secretary. On the treasurer’s seat Zubair Ibrahim was nominated. Independent Panel nominated Arbab Chandio as President, Qasim Khan as Vice President, Imtiaz Hussain as Secretary, Attaullah Zaki Abro as Joint Secretary, and Mubashir Farooq as Treasurer. However, they could not manage to win any seat.

Copyright Business Recorder, 2021


Comments are closed.