BAFL 53.19 Increased By ▲ 3.16 (6.32%)
BIPL 22.90 Increased By ▲ 0.49 (2.19%)
BOP 5.67 Increased By ▲ 0.25 (4.61%)
CNERGY 5.12 Increased By ▲ 0.07 (1.39%)
DFML 19.35 Increased By ▲ 0.17 (0.89%)
DGKC 80.54 Increased By ▲ 0.39 (0.49%)
FABL 33.11 Increased By ▲ 0.26 (0.79%)
FCCL 20.25 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
FFL 10.48 Increased By ▲ 0.83 (8.6%)
GGL 13.61 Increased By ▲ 0.01 (0.07%)
HBL 129.52 Increased By ▲ 8.18 (6.74%)
HUBC 123.38 Increased By ▲ 0.88 (0.72%)
HUMNL 8.04 Increased By ▲ 0.04 (0.5%)
KEL 4.43 Increased By ▲ 0.46 (11.59%)
LOTCHEM 28.01 Decreased By ▼ -0.07 (-0.25%)
MLCF 42.71 Increased By ▲ 0.51 (1.21%)
OGDC 125.38 Increased By ▲ 4.05 (3.34%)
PAEL 21.33 Increased By ▲ 1.10 (5.44%)
PIBTL 6.11 Increased By ▲ 0.31 (5.34%)
PIOC 118.47 Increased By ▲ 2.57 (2.22%)
PPL 113.85 Increased By ▲ 3.10 (2.8%)
PRL 31.80 Increased By ▲ 2.22 (7.51%)
SILK 1.10 Increased By ▲ 0.02 (1.85%)
SNGP 69.44 Increased By ▲ 0.41 (0.59%)
SSGC 13.76 Increased By ▲ 0.06 (0.44%)
TELE 9.16 Increased By ▲ 0.41 (4.69%)
TPLP 14.79 Increased By ▲ 0.12 (0.82%)
TRG 92.45 Increased By ▲ 1.15 (1.26%)
UNITY 27.47 Increased By ▲ 0.22 (0.81%)
WTL 1.67 Increased By ▲ 0.04 (2.45%)
BR100 6,815 Increased By 167.1 (2.51%)
BR30 24,245 Increased By 677 (2.87%)
KSE100 66,224 Increased By 1505.6 (2.33%)
KSE30 22,123 Increased By 529.1 (2.45%)

Quetta Gladiators finally claimed the elusive HBL Pakistan Super League 2019 title after beating Peshawar Zalmi by six wickets on Sunday at National Stadium Karachi. Sarfraz led Gladiators reached the final for the third time but only came out successfully in the fourth edition. It was also the third final for Peshawar Zalmi. The two teams have also met in the final of the second edition, won by Zalmi.
Young eighteen-year old speed sensation Mohammad Husnain of Quetta Gladiators was declared Man of the Match for 3 wickets in the final. Chasing a modest total of 139-run target, Quetta Gladiators reached the total in 18 overs with six wickets in hand. Shane Watson of Quetta Gladiators was named as the Player of HBL PSL 2019 after the 2007 World Cup winner with Australia finished as the leading run-getter in the 32-day tournament, which culminated at the National Stadium on Sunday.
Gladiators lost its star batsman Shane Watson (7 runs) early while he tried for a dangerous single. But then Ahsan Ali along with opener Ahmed Shahzad took the score to 66 runs from 19-1 to take the team out of danger. Ahsan looked dangerous but seasoned paced Wahab Riaz trapped him as skipper Darren Sammy took his catch.
Ahmed Shahzad went on to score half-century (58 not out) while Rilee Roussouw scored unbeaten 39 runs taking the team to victory stand. Earlier, Quetta Gladiators opted to field first after winning the toss. Peshawar Zalmi put on board 138-8.
Umar Amin top scored for the side with 38 runs. Kamran Akmal contributed 21 while Sohaib Maqsood scored 20 runs. Mohammad Hasnain was the most successful bowler on the day picking three wickets for 30 runs in his four overs. Dwayne Bravo took two wickets for 24 runs in his spell.
Luke Ronchi won the Jubilee Safe Hands of HBL PSL 2019 award when he dismissed 11 batsmen behind the stumps, while Peshawar Zalmi's Kieron Pollard was declared the ARIAL and J. Best Player on the Field, when he finished the series with 284 runs, five wickets and 10 catches.
Karachi Kings' left-arm spinner Umer Khan was named as the newly introduced Emerging Player of HBL PSL 2019 award. The 18-year-old mesmerised the top-order of all the sides and claimed 15 prized scalps at an economy-rate of just over 7.
Islamabad United was declared the winner of Cool & Cool Spirit of Cricket award, which they dedicated to their middle-order batsman Asif Ali in recognition to this commitment to the team despite the ailment of his young daughter.
Watson won player of the match awards against Islamabad United, when he scored 81 not out, Peshawar Zalmi, when he scored 91 not out, and again versus Peshawar Zalmi in the Qualifier, when he top-scored with 71 and then bowled the crucial last-over of the match to help his side win by 10 runs.
Watson, for his consistency with the bat and proving to be one of the decisive factors in Gladiators' title-winning campaign, was also declared Brighto Best Batsman of HBL PSL 2019. Hasan Ali of Peshawar Zalmi was adjudged the Go Lootlo Best Bowler of HBL PSL 2019. The fast bowler picked up crucial wickets and finished the series with 25 wickets at an average of 13 with an economy-rate of just under seven. Hasan took four wickets in a match three times.
The individual winners were chosen by an independent panel, which included Mudassar Nazar (Chairman, Event Technical Committee), and also comprised respected commentators Ramiz Raja and Danny Morrison.
The final presentation ceremony was attended by President of Pakistan Dr Arif Alvi, Baluchistan Chief Minister Jam Kamal, Sindh Minister for Local Government Saeed Ghani and others.
Winners: Cool & Cool Spirit of Cricket - Islamabad United
Emerging Player of HBL PSL 2019 - Umer Khan (Karachi Kings)
ARIAL and J Best player on the field - Kieron Pollard (Peshawar Zalmi)
Jubilee Safe Hands of HBL PSL 2019 - Luke Ronchi (Islamabad United)
Go Lootlo Best Bowler of HBL PSL 2019 - Hasan Ali (Peshawar Zalmi)
Brighto Best Batsman of HBL PSL 2019 - Shane Watson (Quetta Gladiators)
HBL Player of PSL 2019 - Shane Watson (Quetta Gladiators).

Copyright Business Recorder, 2019


Comments are closed.