BAFL 45.05 Increased By ▲ 0.25 (0.56%)
BIPL 20.51 Decreased By ▼ -0.47 (-2.24%)
BOP 5.64 Increased By ▲ 0.36 (6.82%)
CNERGY 4.55 Increased By ▲ 0.13 (2.94%)
DFML 15.70 Decreased By ▼ -0.11 (-0.7%)
DGKC 71.21 Decreased By ▼ -0.10 (-0.14%)
FABL 27.40 Decreased By ▼ -0.40 (-1.44%)
FCCL 17.15 Decreased By ▼ -0.14 (-0.81%)
FFL 8.55 Decreased By ▼ -0.19 (-2.17%)
GGL 12.67 Decreased By ▼ -0.49 (-3.72%)
HBL 112.70 Decreased By ▼ -0.70 (-0.62%)
HUBC 119.11 Decreased By ▼ -2.79 (-2.29%)
HUMNL 7.60 Decreased By ▼ -0.34 (-4.28%)
KEL 3.27 Decreased By ▼ -0.10 (-2.97%)
LOTCHEM 27.85 Decreased By ▼ -0.05 (-0.18%)
MLCF 39.08 Decreased By ▼ -0.35 (-0.89%)
OGDC 108.31 Decreased By ▼ -0.96 (-0.88%)
PAEL 17.75 Decreased By ▼ -0.55 (-3.01%)
PIBTL 5.56 Decreased By ▼ -0.18 (-3.14%)
PIOC 106.00 Decreased By ▼ -4.00 (-3.64%)
PPL 92.50 Decreased By ▼ -1.11 (-1.19%)
PRL 25.34 Increased By ▲ 0.19 (0.76%)
SILK 1.07 Increased By ▲ 0.01 (0.94%)
SNGP 63.72 Increased By ▲ 0.02 (0.03%)
SSGC 12.00 Decreased By ▼ -0.25 (-2.04%)
TELE 8.46 Decreased By ▼ -0.42 (-4.73%)
TPLP 13.34 Decreased By ▼ -0.56 (-4.03%)
TRG 85.40 Decreased By ▼ -0.40 (-0.47%)
UNITY 25.96 Decreased By ▼ -0.14 (-0.54%)
WTL 1.54 Decreased By ▼ -0.06 (-3.75%)
BR100 6,185 Decreased By -45.4 (-0.73%)
BR30 21,452 Decreased By -287.1 (-1.32%)
KSE100 60,502 Decreased By -228.3 (-0.38%)
KSE30 20,175 Decreased By -64.2 (-0.32%)
Print Print 2022-07-17

Punjab: crucial by-polls today

  • Polling will continue till 5:00 pm without any break
Published July 17, 2022

LAHORE: All is set for the by-elections on as many as 20 constituencies of the Punjab Assembly on Sunday (today) for which all necessary arrangements have been finalised.

Polling was scheduled to start at 8:00 am and it will continue till 5:00 pm without any break.

Voters can also know their polling stations through a specially activated SMS 8300 service for their guidance.

By elections are being held in the constituencies of Punjab Assembly, i.e., PP-7 Rawalpindi; PP-83, Khushab; PP-90 Bhakkar; PP-97 Faisalabad; PP-125, Jhang; PP-127, Jhang; PP-140 Sheikhupura; PP-158,Lahore; PP-167, Lahore; PP-168, Lahore; PP-170 Lahore; PP-202 Sahiwal; PP-217 Multan; PP-224, Lodhran;PP-228, Lodhran; PP-237, Bahawalnagar; PP-272- Muzaffargarh;PP-273 Muzaffargarh;PP-282, Layyah and PP-288 Dera Ghazi Khan.

There are 175 candidates in the run and main contest is expected between PML-N and PTI candidates.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has completed all necessary arrangements for the by-polls. A total of 4.58 million registered voters, including 2.19 million women, are eligible to vote in the by-polls for these seats. As many as 3131 polling stations, including 731 for males, 700 for females, besides 1700 combined polling stations have been established across the 20 constituencies. A total of 9,562 polling booths have been set up for the by-polls. The ECP has declared 1304 polling stations sensitive and 690 highly sensitive. Polling stations from Lahore (4 seats) and Multan (one seat) have been declared sensitive, sources said.

PTI intensifies election campaign in Lahore

CCTV Cameras have already been installed at highly sensitive and sensitive polling stations while the contingents of Punjab Rangers will patrol the areas and army will be in a stand-by position to avert any untoward situation.

The ruling PML-N needs to win a total of 9 seats in the by-elections to gain a majority to elect their Chief Minister in the country’s biggest province.

Since, the 20 Punjab Assembly constituencies fall in Rawalpindi, Khushab, Bhakkar, Faisalabad, Jhang, Sheikhupura, Lahore, Sahiwal, Multan, Lodhran, Bahawalnagar, Muzaffargarh, Layyah and Dera Ghazi Khan districts, the bye-elections activity has generated much political activities.

It may be noted that these 20 seats were declared vacant due to defection of members of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf.

Meanwhile, the ECP has set up central and provincial control rooms for the bye-elections. A central control room has been established in Election Commission Islamabad. Complaint regarding polling, can be registered on the phone No. 051-9204402 -3051-9210837- 8 FAX Number 051-9204404.

Secretary Election Commission Umar Hameed Khan visited Provincial Election Commission Office Punjab in Lahore on Saturday and reviewed polling and security arrangements.

Speaking on this occasion, he said that on the request of Election Commission, two thousand FC personnel have been deployed by Interior Ministry to maintain law and order during by-elections. “We have full support of state institutions for holding free, fair and transparent elections,” he said. He appealed to the people to come out and exercise their right of vote without any fear.

Copyright Business Recorder, 2022


Comments are closed.

Punjab: crucial by-polls today

IHC acquits Nawaz Sharif in Avenfield reference

Imran Khan will not take part in intra-party polls, PTI announces

Inter-bank: rupee registers back-to-back gains against US dollar

Open-market: rupee unchanged against US dollar

Caretaker PM meets Kuwait’s First Deputy Prime Minister

Israel, Hamas due to release more people amid efforts to extend truce

TPL Life Insurance, Dar Es Salam Textile Mills move ahead with merger talks

Oil gains ahead of OPEC+ meeting as Black Sea shutdowns support

Gold price per tola jumps Rs2,600 in Pakistan

Pakistan players told to put country before franchise leagues