BAFL 45.31 Increased By ▲ 0.51 (1.14%)
BIPL 20.25 Decreased By ▼ -0.73 (-3.48%)
BOP 5.61 Increased By ▲ 0.33 (6.25%)
CNERGY 4.60 Increased By ▲ 0.18 (4.07%)
DFML 15.82 Increased By ▲ 0.01 (0.06%)
DGKC 73.45 Increased By ▲ 2.14 (3%)
FABL 27.32 Decreased By ▼ -0.48 (-1.73%)
FCCL 16.98 Decreased By ▼ -0.31 (-1.79%)
FFL 8.51 Decreased By ▼ -0.23 (-2.63%)
GGL 12.69 Decreased By ▼ -0.47 (-3.57%)
HBL 111.18 Decreased By ▼ -2.22 (-1.96%)
HUBC 119.71 Decreased By ▼ -2.19 (-1.8%)
HUMNL 7.37 Decreased By ▼ -0.57 (-7.18%)
KEL 3.25 Decreased By ▼ -0.12 (-3.56%)
LOTCHEM 27.43 Decreased By ▼ -0.47 (-1.68%)
MLCF 39.14 Decreased By ▼ -0.29 (-0.74%)
OGDC 108.10 Decreased By ▼ -1.17 (-1.07%)
PAEL 17.70 Decreased By ▼ -0.60 (-3.28%)
PIBTL 5.55 Decreased By ▼ -0.19 (-3.31%)
PIOC 106.48 Decreased By ▼ -3.52 (-3.2%)
PPL 92.12 Decreased By ▼ -1.49 (-1.59%)
PRL 25.01 Decreased By ▼ -0.14 (-0.56%)
SILK 1.02 Decreased By ▼ -0.04 (-3.77%)
SNGP 63.31 Decreased By ▼ -0.39 (-0.61%)
SSGC 11.84 Decreased By ▼ -0.41 (-3.35%)
TELE 8.33 Decreased By ▼ -0.55 (-6.19%)
TPLP 13.18 Decreased By ▼ -0.72 (-5.18%)
TRG 84.75 Decreased By ▼ -1.05 (-1.22%)
UNITY 25.89 Decreased By ▼ -0.21 (-0.8%)
WTL 1.53 Decreased By ▼ -0.07 (-4.38%)
BR100 6,185 Decreased By -45.4 (-0.73%)
BR30 21,452 Decreased By -287.1 (-1.32%)
KSE100 60,502 Decreased By -228.3 (-0.38%)
KSE30 20,175 Decreased By -64.2 (-0.32%)

ISLAMABAD: Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has suspended Roshan Gharana Programme launched by Chief Minister Punjab Hamza Shahbaz— declaring that this scheme has “direct influence over the election process and is against the mandate of the Constitution regarding free, free, just and honest elections on a level-playing field” — ahead of by-elections on 20 seats of Punjab Assembly on July 17.

The programme that envisages the provision of free electricity of up to 100 units to the consumers—has been suspended till July 19—till two days after the scheduled conduct of by-polls (on July 17).

Chief Election Commissioner Sikandar Sultan Raja headed the three-member bench, comprising of Nisar Ahmed Durrani and former Justice Ikramullah Khan that heard the case and issued a five-page order on Thursday.

A counsel for the CM Punjab represented him before the bench.

In the proceedings, the defence lawyer stated that Roshan Gharana Programme was part of the federal budget and 100 billion rupees were allocated for this purpose that was launched for the entire Punjab.

However, the CEC was of the view that the programme could be executed after the by-polls and its execution ahead of the elections was clearly tantamount to influencing the electoral process in favour of the ruling party in Punjab.

Households using up to 100 units of power to get free electricity: CM Hamza Shehbaz

The Roshan Gharana Programme was launched by the younger Sharif on Monday. But on Tuesday, the electoral body took notice and summoned the CM at the ECP headquarters here in the federal capital—directing him to appear either in person or through a counsel on Thursday. The ECP code of conduct bars the public office-holders from announcing development packages/visiting any constituency after the announcement of election schedule in the said constituency.

The ECP can impose a maximum fine of Rs 50,000 on anyone found guilty of violating the electoral code of conduct— in exercise of powers under Section 234 of Elections Act 2017.

Under the same section, electoral body has powers to disqualify any candidate from contesting the polls if he/she is found violating electoral code of conduct more than once.

By-elections are being held on four PA seats of Lahore, two seats each of Jhang, Lodhran, Muzaffargarh, and one seat each of Rawalpindi, Khushab, Bhakkar, Faisalabad, Sheikhupura, Sahiwal, Multan, Bahawalnagar, Layyah and Dera Ghazi Khan.

On May 30, this year, ECP, under Article 63-A, de-notified the legislative memberships of a total of 25 dissident members provincial assembly (MPAs) of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) who voted for Hamza Shahbaz, against the party policy, in the election of CM Punjab held in April. Of them, 20 legislators were elected on general seats and five on reserved seats.

Copyright Business Recorder, 2022


Comments are closed.

ECP suspends Punjab’s free power scheme till after by-polls

IHC acquits Nawaz Sharif in Avenfield reference

Imran Khan will not take part in intra-party polls, PTI announces

Inter-bank: rupee registers back-to-back gains against US dollar

Open market: rupee unchanged against US dollar

Caretaker PM meets Kuwait’s First Deputy Prime Minister

Israel, Hamas due to release more people amid efforts to extend truce

TPL Life Insurance, Dar Es Salam Textile Mills move ahead with merger talks

Oil gains ahead of OPEC+ meeting as Black Sea shutdowns support

Gold price per tola jumps Rs2,600 in Pakistan

Pakistan players told to put country before franchise leagues