AVN 65.45 Increased By ▲ 0.50 (0.77%)
BAFL 30.65 Decreased By ▼ -0.86 (-2.73%)
BOP 4.83 Increased By ▲ 0.04 (0.84%)
CNERGY 3.72 Decreased By ▼ -0.12 (-3.13%)
DFML 14.26 Decreased By ▼ -0.15 (-1.04%)
DGKC 41.06 Decreased By ▼ -0.54 (-1.3%)
EPCL 46.56 Decreased By ▼ -0.14 (-0.3%)
FCCL 11.35 Increased By ▲ 0.06 (0.53%)
FFL 5.03 Decreased By ▼ -0.02 (-0.4%)
FLYNG 5.78 Decreased By ▼ -0.04 (-0.69%)
GGL 10.28 Decreased By ▼ -0.17 (-1.63%)
HUBC 67.03 Increased By ▲ 1.39 (2.12%)
HUMNL 5.68 Increased By ▲ 0.02 (0.35%)
KAPCO 27.85 Increased By ▲ 0.10 (0.36%)
KEL 2.19 Increased By ▲ 0.04 (1.86%)
LOTCHEM 24.83 Increased By ▲ 0.48 (1.97%)
MLCF 21.37 Decreased By ▼ -0.11 (-0.51%)
NETSOL 84.20 Decreased By ▼ -0.59 (-0.7%)
OGDC 85.94 Decreased By ▼ -1.31 (-1.5%)
PAEL 11.01 Increased By ▲ 0.03 (0.27%)
PIBTL 4.17 Decreased By ▼ -0.05 (-1.18%)
PPL 74.56 Decreased By ▼ -1.14 (-1.51%)
PRL 13.40 Decreased By ▼ -0.25 (-1.83%)
SILK 0.92 Increased By ▲ 0.03 (3.37%)
SNGP 40.44 Decreased By ▼ -0.89 (-2.15%)
TELE 5.86 Increased By ▲ 0.01 (0.17%)
TPLP 15.42 Decreased By ▼ -0.22 (-1.41%)
TRG 111.63 Decreased By ▼ -0.07 (-0.06%)
UNITY 13.76 Decreased By ▼ -0.22 (-1.57%)
WTL 1.14 Decreased By ▼ -0.02 (-1.72%)
BR100 4,037 Decreased By -26.9 (-0.66%)
BR30 14,412 Decreased By -56.6 (-0.39%)
KSE100 40,471 Decreased By -262.4 (-0.64%)
KSE30 15,163 Decreased By -67.2 (-0.44%)
Follow us

ISLAMABAD: The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) on Wednesday emerged as the single largest party in Senate with 26 members, followed by Pakistan People’s Party Parliamentarians (PPPP) 20, Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) 18, Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) 12, independents 6, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam Fazal (JUI-F) and Muttahid Qaumi Movement Pakistan (MQM) 3 each.

The PTI made history in the Senate polls by securing 10 seats from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, two from Sindh and one from the Federal Capital in the elections held on Wednesday while its five candidates were already elected unopposed from Punjab.

According to the official result announced by the Election Commission, PTI’s candidates, who were elected senators on general seats from KP include Federal Minister for Information and Broadcasting Syed Shibli Faraz, Mohsin Aziz, Liaquat Khan Tarkai, Faisal Saleem and Zeeshan Khanzada, while the opposition clinched two seats - Hidayatullah Khan (ANP) and Maulana Attaur Rehman (JUI-F).

PTI’s Dost Muhammad Khan and Muhammad Hamayun Mohmand were elected senators on the two seats of technocrats by securing 59 and 49 votes, respectively. The lone seat for non-Muslims was also clinched by PTI’s Gurdeep Singh, who got 103 votes.

PTI’s Dr Sania Nishtar and Falak Naz emerged victorious by getting 56 and 51 votes, respectively, on two women’s reserved seats from KP.

Likewise from the Federal Capital, PTI's candidate Fozia Arshad won a women’s reserved seat in Senate by securing 174 votes while PML-N Candidate Farzana Kausar got 161 votes while five votes were rejected.

The joint opposition candidate Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani won the general seat from Islamabad by securing 169 while his opponent Minister for Finance Dr Abdul Hafeez Sheikh of PTI received 164, and seven votes were rejected.

In Sindh, the PPPP secured seven seats while the PTI and the MQM-P clinched two seats each. Those who won the Senate seats include Saleem Mandviwalla, Sherry Rehman, Jam Mahtab Dahar, Taj Haider and Shahadat Awan of PPPP, Federal Minister Water Resources Faisal Vawda of PTI and Faisal Subzwari of MQM-P. Palwasha Khan of PPPP and Khalida Ateeb of MQM-P were elected on women’s seats and Farooq H Naek of PPPP and Saifullah Abro of PTI on technocrats’ seats.

In Balochistan, the PTI's coalition partner, BAP, clinched five seats, followed by two each by the JUI-F and independents, and one each by the BNP and the ANP. Those who won on the general seats included Sarfaraz Bugti, Manzoor Ahmed and Prince Ahmed Umer Ahmedzai of the BAP, Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri of the JUI-F, Muhammad Qasim of the BNP, Umer Farooq of the ANP and Abdul Qadir (independent). Saeed Ahmed Hashmi of the BAP and Kamran Murtaza of the JUI-F won the technocrats’ seats, and Samina Mumtaz of the BAP and Naseema Ehsan were elected on women’s seats.


Comments are closed.

PTI now single largest party in Senate with 26 members

At least five injured in explosion near Quetta Police Lines

PM vows ‘zero tolerance’ to terrorism

Pakistan expresses unflinching support for Kashmiris on Solidarity Day

Foreign authorities seeking properties/bank accounts info: FBR won’t intimate concerned taxpayer about request

Dar chairs meeting on role of PDFL, SOEs

WB board to consider $78m ‘digital economy’ project next month

PM directs PD to recover Rs1.13bn royalty amount from 2 oil, gas cos

India to ban Chinese-linked betting and loan lending apps

Section 144 imposed in Peshawar

Imran talks of ‘jail bharo’ movement soon