JOHANNESBURG: The BRICS group of nations has decided to invite six countries - Argentina, Egypt, Iran, Ethiopia, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates - to become new members of the bloc, South African President Cyril Ramaphosa said on Thursday.

The debate over expanding the BRICS bloc, comprising Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa, has topped the agenda at a three-day summit in Johannesburg ending on Thursday.

BRICS leaders meet in South Africa as bloc weighs expansion

While all BRICS members have publicly expressed support for growing the bloc, there were divisions among the leaders over how much and how quickly.


Comments are closed.

Az_Iz Aug 24, 2023 04:45pm
Multi polar world is better.
thumb_up Recommended (0)
Ash Chak Aug 24, 2023 04:53pm
If bankrupt Argentina can make the grade, why not Pakistan?
thumb_up Recommended (0)
Arif Mehmood Aug 24, 2023 05:03pm
Good inititaive..lets see how effective it will be
thumb_up Recommended (0)
Notsurprised Aug 24, 2023 05:18pm
Excellent. The axis of the world has shifted and sooner the rest of the world rids itself of the exploitative shadow of US and Europe, the better.
thumb_up Recommended (0)
Pakistani1 Aug 25, 2023 05:52am
Ethiopia is invited but not Pakistan. Scratching my head to understand?
thumb_up Recommended (0)
John Aug 25, 2023 12:17pm
Modi's hatred for Muslims is evident by not letting Pakistan join in!
thumb_up Recommended (0)