AVN 67.60 Increased By ▲ 0.50 (0.75%)
BAFL 30.99 Decreased By ▼ -0.01 (-0.03%)
BOP 4.91 Increased By ▲ 0.01 (0.2%)
CNERGY 3.74 Decreased By ▼ -0.04 (-1.06%)
DFML 14.03 Decreased By ▼ -0.40 (-2.77%)
DGKC 41.11 Decreased By ▼ -0.74 (-1.77%)
EPCL 46.58 Increased By ▲ 0.01 (0.02%)
FCCL 11.60 Decreased By ▼ -0.09 (-0.77%)
FFL 5.03 Decreased By ▼ -0.04 (-0.79%)
FLYNG 5.85 Increased By ▲ 0.05 (0.86%)
GGL 10.34 Decreased By ▼ -0.08 (-0.77%)
HUBC 68.04 Increased By ▲ 0.04 (0.06%)
HUMNL 5.74 Decreased By ▼ -0.02 (-0.35%)
KAPCO 28.02 Decreased By ▼ -0.08 (-0.28%)
KEL 2.26 Decreased By ▼ -0.03 (-1.31%)
LOTCHEM 25.02 Decreased By ▼ -0.03 (-0.12%)
MLCF 21.45 Decreased By ▼ -0.24 (-1.11%)
NETSOL 87.66 Increased By ▲ 1.66 (1.93%)
OGDC 99.30 Increased By ▲ 6.92 (7.49%)
PAEL 11.00 Decreased By ▼ -0.09 (-0.81%)
PIBTL 4.26 Increased By ▲ 0.02 (0.47%)
PPL 81.12 Increased By ▲ 0.97 (1.21%)
PRL 13.23 Decreased By ▼ -0.41 (-3.01%)
SILK 0.88 Decreased By ▼ -0.02 (-2.22%)
SNGP 43.85 Increased By ▲ 0.38 (0.87%)
TELE 6.12 Increased By ▲ 0.16 (2.68%)
TPLP 15.66 Decreased By ▼ -0.07 (-0.45%)
TRG 118.99 Increased By ▲ 3.98 (3.46%)
UNITY 14.01 Increased By ▲ 0.16 (1.16%)
WTL 1.23 Increased By ▲ 0.07 (6.03%)
BR100 4,171 Increased By 47 (1.14%)
BR30 15,253 Increased By 323.5 (2.17%)
KSE100 41,523 Increased By 332 (0.81%)
KSE30 15,663 Increased By 168.9 (1.09%)
Follow us

ISLAMABAD: The members of the Senate Standing Committee on Cabinet Secretariat raised serious concern over not convening any meeting of the National Disaster Management Commission (NDMC) during the last four years.

The committee met with Senator Rana Maqbool Ahmed in the chair at the Parliament house on Wednesday.

The committee discussed the National Disaster Management Amendment Bill, 2022 introduced by Senator Simi Ezdi in the Senate session held on October 10, 2022. The committee chairman said that this bill is very important as climate change has become the biggest challenge for the country. He said that recent floods have shaken the foundations of the country. He said that more than 33 million people have been affected by the floods and millions have become jobless.

In response to Senator Ezdi’s question, the committee was informed that the meeting of the National Disaster Management Commission was held four years ago, on which, the chairman and members of the committee expressed serious concern and suggested that the commission should be convened four times a year. He said that the relevant ministers and secretaries must participate in the meeting of the commission. She said that minutes of every meeting must be provided to the Standing Committee.

The chairman committee said that the environmental problem has become so serious that the international community has also joined to create a mechanism under which people can be saved from the damages of natural disasters. He said that a sub-committee should be formed to work on the formulation of the mechanism.

The question asked by Senator Waleed Iqbal in the Senate session on November 5, 2021 about appointment of commissioners and deputy commissioners as chief secretaries in the four provinces, Azad Jammu and Kashmir, and Gilgit-Baltistan.

Senator Iqbal said that the standing committee should recommend that the rules which are mentioned should be acted upon according to the law. He said that he would soon bring a bill in this regard.

About the civil awards, the committee was told that nominations are sought from all federal institutions, divisions, subordinate institutions, and provincial governments for civil awards. It was told that three sub-committees review them and give a report to the Award Committee headed by the federal minister, after which, the candidates are included in the list.

Chairman Committee Senator Rana Maqbool Ahmed said that there are many people who have done significant work for the country, but influential people are included in the list. He said that a mechanism should be created in which such qualified and competent people should be involved.

Senators Khaleda Ateeb, Maula Bakhsh Chandio, Mushtaq Ahmed Khan, Rukhsana Zuberi, Simi Ezdi, Muhammad Akram, and Waleed Iqbal, and senior officials attended the meeting.

Copyright Business Recorder, 2022


Comments are closed.

Senate panel concerned at non-convening of NDMC meeting

FY24 budget: FBR invites proposals on income tax

AIIB chief economist briefed about state of economy

Earthquake rescue work moves slowly in Turkiye, Syria as death toll passes 5,000

Rupee falls 0.35%, settles at 276.28 against US dollar

Dar inducts four new members into ‘RRMC’

Government postpones All Parties Conference again as PM will be in Turkiye

Reason behind cut in PSDP disbursement identified

LCCI says wants ‘charter of economy’, not elections

Rs 417bn received by KP: Cabinet decides to conduct audit

KSE-100 rises 0.81% on optimism over resolution of gas sector circular debt