Australian all-rounder Daniel Sams is set to make his PSL debut this season after he was picked up by Karachi Kings in the Platinum round during the PSL 9 Draft ceremony.

Also making their debuts in the PSL are the South African duo of Reeza Hendricks (Multan Sultans, Gold) and Lungi Ngidi (Peshawar Zalmi, Supplementary).

David Willey was the first pick of the evening, as Multan Sultans cashed in their first pick in the Platinum round. The English all-rounder has 270 wickets and 3,720 runs in the T20 format.

Peshawar Zalmi picked Noor Ahmad, the Afghanistan spinner, to strengthen their bowling ranks. The 18-year-old had 74 T20 wickets.

Islamabad United used their wildcard to pick the Jordan Cox. The English wicketkeeper-batter has 1,798 T20 runs.

Sherfane Rutherford (West Indies) and Mohammad Amir were Quetta Gladiators’ two Platinum picks. The West Indies middle-order batter has 1,753 runs. Amir, with 303 T20 scalps to his name, will be boosting Gladiators’ bowling attack.

Karachi Kings used their first-round Platinum pick to secure Kieron Pollard. The West Indies all-rounder has a record tally of 12,390 runs and 312 wickets in the shortest format.

Karachi’s next pick was Daniel Sams, who has taken 179 wickets and has scored 1,699 runs in the shortest format. Pakistan left-arm spinner Mohammad Nawaz was Karachi’s final pick in Platinum.

Fakhar Zaman was once again Lahore Qalandars’ first pick in Platinum. The left-handed batter has been prolific for Lahore and was the team’s top run-getter in the last two editions of PSL. South African batter Rassie van der Dussen was Lahore’s final pick in the Platinum round. He has thus far amassed 4,680 T20 runs.

Sahibzada Farhan, who headlined the National T20 Cup 2023-24 as the top run-getter, was secured by Lahore Qalandars in the Diamond round. Sahibzada will join the ranks of Fakhar Zaman and Abdullah Shafique to strengthen the team’s top order.

England’s Dawid Malan (Multan Sultans) and Tymal Mills (Islamabad United), New Zealand’s Tim Seifert (Karachi Kings) and Asif Ali (Peshawar Zalmi) were the other Diamond picks.

Multan Sultans picked Reeza Hendricks, the South African top-order batter, in the Gold category. He has an impressive tally of 5,489 T20 runs and is currently ranked No. 8 on the ICC T20I rankings. The ninth-best bowler in the world, West Indies spinner Akeal Hosein, was picked by Quetta Gladiators in the Supplementary round.

Lahore Qalandars chose Salman Irshad as their first silver round pic but Peshawar Zalmi used RTM to retain the fast bowler. Similarly, Omair Bin Yousuf was picked up by Islamabad United, but Quetta Gladiators used RTM to retain the young top-order batter.

Full squads

Lahore Qalandars

Platinum: Shaheen Shah Afridi (c), Fakhar Zaman, Rassie van der Dussen (South Africa).

Diamond: Haris Rauf (Brand Ambassador), David Wiese (Namibia) and Sahibzada Farhan (Wildcard).

Gold: Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe), Abdullah Shafique, Zaman Khan.

Silver: Mirza Tahir Baig (Successful relegation request), Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Mohammad Imran, Ahsan Bhatti, Dan Lawrence (England).

Emerging: Jahandad Khan, Syed Faridoun Mahmood.

Supplementary: Shai Hope (West Indies) and Kamran Ghulam.

Islamabad United

Platinum: Shadab Khan (c), Naseem Shah, Jordan Cox (Wildcard) (England).

Diamond: Imad Wasim (Mentor), Azam Khan, Tymal Mills (England).

Gold: Faheem Ashraf (Brand Ambassador), Alex Hales (England), Colin Munro (New Zealand).

Silver: Rumman Raees (Successful relegation request), Matthew Forde (West Indies), Salman Ali Agha, Qasim Akram, Shahab Khan Emerging: Hunain Shah, Ubaid Shah.

Supplementary: Shamyl Hussain and Tom Curran (England).

Multan Sultans

Platinum: Mohammad Rizwan (c), Iftikhar Ahmed, David Willey (England).

Diamond: Khushdil Shah, Usama Mir, Dawid Malan (England)

Gold: Abbas Afridi, Reeza Hendricks (South Africa), Reece Topley (England).

Silver: Ihsanullah (Brand Ambassador), Tayyab Tahir, Shahnawaz Dahani, Mohammad Ali, Usman Khan (UAE).

Emerging: Faisal Akram, Yasir Khan.

Supplementary: Chris Jordan (England) and Aftab Ibrahim.

Karachi Kings

Platinum: Kieron Pollard (West Indies), Daniel Sams (Australia), Mohammad Nawaz.

Diamond: James Vince (England), Hasan Ali, Tim Seifert (New Zealand)

Gold: Shan Masood (Brand Ambassador), Shoaib Malik (Mentor), Tabraiz Shamsi (South Africa).

Silver: Mir Hamza (Successful relegation request), Muhammad Akhlaq, Mohammad Amir Khan, Anwar Ali and Arafat Minhas.

Emerging: Muhammad Irfan Khan, and Sirajuddin.

Supplementary: Saad Baig and Jamie Overton (England).

Quetta Gladiators

Platinum: Rilee Rossouw (South Africa), Sherfane Rutherford (West Indies), Mohammad Amir.

Diamond: Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Jason Roy (England), Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka).

Gold: Sarfaraz Ahmed (Brand Ambassador) Abrar Ahmed, Mohammad Hasnain.

Silver: Will Smeed (England), Saud Shakeel, Sajjad Ali Jnr, Usman Qadir, Omair Bin Yousuf.

Supplementary: Adil Naz, Khawaja Nafay (both Emerging), Akeal Hosein (West Indies) and Sohail Khan.

Peshawar Zalmi

Babar Azam (c), Rovman Powell (West Indies), Noor Ahmad (Afghanistan).

Diamond: Saim Ayub, Tom Kohler-Cadmore (England), Asif Ali.

Gold: Mohammad Haris (Brand Ambassador), Aamir Jamal, Naveen-ul-Haq (Afghanistan).

Silver: Khurram Shahzad, Salman Irshad, Arif Yaqoob, Umair Afridi, Daniel Mousley (England).

Emerging: Haseebullah, Mohammad Zeeshan (both Emerging), Lungi Ngidi (South Africa) and Mehran Mumtaz.


Comments are closed.