ANL 27.85 Increased By ▲ 0.35 (1.27%)
ASC 17.10 Increased By ▲ 0.09 (0.53%)
ASL 23.99 Increased By ▲ 0.09 (0.38%)
AVN 94.26 Increased By ▲ 0.56 (0.6%)
BOP 9.56 Increased By ▲ 0.05 (0.53%)
BYCO 9.84 Increased By ▲ 0.09 (0.92%)
DGKC 110.75 Increased By ▲ 0.50 (0.45%)
EPCL 48.20 Increased By ▲ 0.41 (0.86%)
FCCL 21.38 Increased By ▲ 0.11 (0.52%)
FFBL 27.44 Increased By ▲ 0.03 (0.11%)
FFL 18.79 Decreased By ▼ -0.01 (-0.05%)
HASCOL 14.49 Decreased By ▼ -0.07 (-0.48%)
HUBC 85.83 Decreased By ▼ -0.85 (-0.98%)
HUMNL 7.57 Increased By ▲ 0.24 (3.27%)
JSCL 31.48 Increased By ▲ 0.54 (1.75%)
KAPCO 41.46 Increased By ▲ 0.41 (1%)
KEL 4.17 Increased By ▲ 0.07 (1.71%)
LOTCHEM 16.40 Increased By ▲ 0.15 (0.92%)
MLCF 43.56 Increased By ▲ 0.54 (1.26%)
PAEL 39.88 Decreased By ▼ -0.02 (-0.05%)
PIBTL 13.08 Increased By ▲ 0.47 (3.73%)
POWER 11.80 Increased By ▲ 0.41 (3.6%)
PPL 93.99 Decreased By ▼ -0.01 (-0.01%)
PRL 24.29 Increased By ▲ 0.30 (1.25%)
PTC 9.55 Increased By ▲ 0.05 (0.53%)
SILK 1.29 Increased By ▲ 0.03 (2.38%)
SNGP 45.24 Increased By ▲ 0.24 (0.53%)
TRG 107.48 Increased By ▲ 1.03 (0.97%)
UNITY 33.72 Decreased By ▼ -0.46 (-1.35%)
WTL 1.12 Decreased By ▼ -0.01 (-0.88%)
BR100 4,851 Increased By ▲ 18.34 (0.38%)
BR30 24,815 Increased By ▲ 121.52 (0.49%)
KSE100 45,831 Increased By ▲ 154.3 (0.34%)
KSE30 19,082 Increased By ▲ 56.45 (0.3%)

NEW YORK: ICE cotton futures extended losses for the second straight session on Wednesday as speculators liquidated positions ahead of the US Thanksgiving holiday amid harvest progress and favourable weather conditions.

The cotton contract for March was down 0.38 cent, or 0.5%, at 72.60 cents per lb by 11:36 a.m. EST (1636 GMT) after falling more than 1% in the previous session.

“Some of the speculators are liquidating long positions ahead of the holiday and month-end,” said Jack Scoville, vice president at Chicago-based Price Futures Group.

“The harvest is coming up well and the weather is also good, so there are not much factors to lift the cotton market higher at the movement.”

The weekly crop progress report from the US Department of Agriculture (USDA) on Monday showed 77% of US cotton was harvested, compared with 69% last week.

Earlier this month, the USDA in its monthly World Agriculture Supply and Demand Estimates (WASDE) report raised its projections for 2020/21 US cotton production marginally to 17.1 million bales.

Sentiment in the wider financial markets remained subdued as a surprise rise in US weekly jobless claims added to signs the recovery of the labour market was stalling amid a surge in COVID-19 infections. Most US markets will be closed on Thursday for the Thanksgiving holiday. On Friday, the cotton market will open late at 8 a.m. EST (1300 GMT) and close early at 1:30 p.m. EST (1830 GMT).

Total futures market volume fell by 17,762 to 8,931 lots.

Certificated cotton stocks deliverable as of Nov. 24 totalled 121,109 480-lb bales, up from 119,220 in the previous session.—Reuters