AVN 63.71 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
BOP 8.77 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
CHCC 134.55 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
DCL 10.01 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
DGKC 108.01 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
EFERT 64.27 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
EPCL 41.21 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
FCCL 21.00 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
FFL 15.10 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
HASCOL 15.05 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
HBL 130.50 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
HUBC 81.75 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
HUMNL 7.35 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
JSCL 24.29 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
KAPCO 28.49 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
KEL 3.70 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
LOTCHEM 11.71 Decreased By ▼ -0.01 (-0.09%)
MLCF 41.98 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
OGDC 93.20 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
PAEL 32.90 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
PIBTL 12.76 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
PIOC 95.00 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
POWER 9.72 Decreased By ▼ -0.03 (-0.31%)
PPL 83.50 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
PSO 200.02 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
SNGP 56.52 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
STPL 13.15 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
TRG 46.90 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
UNITY 23.05 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
WTL 1.04 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
BR100 4,133 Decreased By ▼ -155.2 (-3.62%)
BR30 21,019 Decreased By ▼ -858.48 (-3.92%)
KSE100 39,888 Decreased By ▼ -1298.86 (-3.15%)
KSE30 16,750 Decreased By ▼ -546.72 (-3.16%)

In the backdrop of prevailing deadlock between the government and the opposition, the scheduled meeting of the Parliamentary Committee on Appointment of the Chief Election Commissioner and Members of Election Commission of Pakistan was once again put off on Monday.
The 12-member parliamentary committee, which comprises six parliamentarians each from the treasury and opposition benches, is led by Human Rights Minister Dr Shireen Mazari.
The committee had last met on December 4 and since then its meetings have been repeatedly postponed due to opposition's boycott. In the committee's December 4 meeting, the two sides had failed to reach consensus over the appointment of the two ECP members and deferred the matter till December 11 on the pretext that the names of the new CEC and members ECP would be announced together before this meeting was again rescheduled.
Prior to December 4 meeting, the parliamentary committee, a day earlier on December 3, had reached consensus over the appointment of government's nominee Naveed Jan Baloch as ECP member from Balochistan and it was expected that the government and opposition would come together in the next meeting (on December 4) to agree on opposition's nominee for the appointment of ECP member from Sindh too, which is also a cause of deadlock between the two sides, it is learnt.
The CEC and ECP members are appointed with consensus between the leader of the house (prime minister) and leader of the opposition in National Assembly. PM Imran Khan has recommended Babar Yaqoob, Fateh Muhammad and former federal secretaries Fazal Abbas Maken and Arif Khan for the elevation of anyone of them to the coveted slot of the CEC.
Leader of the Opposition in NA Shahbaz Sharif has recommended the names of former federal secretaries Nasir Mahmood Khosa, Jalil Abbas Jillani and Akhlaq Ahmad Tarar for the CEC post.
For member ECP from Sindh, the PM has recommended former Justice Sadiq Bhatti, former Justice Noorul Haq Qureshi and Abdul Jabbar Qureshi. For member ECP from Balochistan, he has recommended Dr Faiz Kakar, Naveed Jan Baloch and Amanullah Baloch.
The NA opposition leader has suggested the names of Nisar Durrani, former Justice Abdur Rasool Memon and Aurangzeb Haq for member ECP from Sindh, and Shah Mehmood Jatoi, Rauf Atta and Raheel Durrani for member ECP from Balochistan.
The Article 213 reads, "(2 A) The Prime Minister shall in consultation with the Leader of the Opposition in the National Assembly, forward three names for appointment of the Commissioner to a Parliamentary Committee for hearing and confirmation of any one person.
"Article (2B) The Parliamentary Committee to be constituted by the Speaker shall comprise fifty percent members from the Treasury Benches and fifty percent from the Opposition Parties, based on their strength in Majlis-e-Shoora (Parliament), to be nominated by the respective Parliamentary Leaders:
Provided that in case there is no consensus between the Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition, each shall forward separate lists to the Parliamentary Committee for consideration which may confirm any one name."
As per the relevant constitutional provisions, the criterion for the appointment of the CEC and the four ECP members (one member is appointed from each province) is the same and the CEC and ECP members are appointed for five years with half of the members (two out of four) retiring after 2.5 years.
In case the deadlock persists between the government and opposition over the appointment of CEC, the Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) is constitutionally empowered to nominate a serving judge of the Supreme Court to act as acting CEC till the regular appointment on this position.
Even if the CEC is not appointed, the ECP can constitutionally remain functional if the PM and NA opposition leader come together to get the two ECP members appointed, which means that the ECP will have four members and would be in position to take decisions.
Since December 5, the ECP has been left dysfunctional following the retirement of CEC former Justice Sardar Muhammad Raza. On December 6, former Justice Altaf Ibrahim Qureshi, a sitting ECP member from Punjab took oath as acting CEC but the ECP would remain dysfunctional due to its incomplete formation.
Copyright Business Recorder, 2019