BAFL 53.19 Increased By ▲ 3.16 (6.32%)
BIPL 22.90 Increased By ▲ 0.49 (2.19%)
BOP 5.67 Increased By ▲ 0.25 (4.61%)
CNERGY 5.12 Increased By ▲ 0.07 (1.39%)
DFML 19.35 Increased By ▲ 0.17 (0.89%)
DGKC 80.54 Increased By ▲ 0.39 (0.49%)
FABL 33.11 Increased By ▲ 0.26 (0.79%)
FCCL 20.25 No Change ▼ 0.00 (0%)
FFL 10.48 Increased By ▲ 0.83 (8.6%)
GGL 13.61 Increased By ▲ 0.01 (0.07%)
HBL 129.52 Increased By ▲ 8.18 (6.74%)
HUBC 123.38 Increased By ▲ 0.88 (0.72%)
HUMNL 8.04 Increased By ▲ 0.04 (0.5%)
KEL 4.43 Increased By ▲ 0.46 (11.59%)
LOTCHEM 28.01 Decreased By ▼ -0.07 (-0.25%)
MLCF 42.71 Increased By ▲ 0.51 (1.21%)
OGDC 125.38 Increased By ▲ 4.05 (3.34%)
PAEL 21.33 Increased By ▲ 1.10 (5.44%)
PIBTL 6.11 Increased By ▲ 0.31 (5.34%)
PIOC 118.47 Increased By ▲ 2.57 (2.22%)
PPL 113.85 Increased By ▲ 3.10 (2.8%)
PRL 31.80 Increased By ▲ 2.22 (7.51%)
SILK 1.10 Increased By ▲ 0.02 (1.85%)
SNGP 69.44 Increased By ▲ 0.41 (0.59%)
SSGC 13.76 Increased By ▲ 0.06 (0.44%)
TELE 9.16 Increased By ▲ 0.41 (4.69%)
TPLP 14.79 Increased By ▲ 0.12 (0.82%)
TRG 92.45 Increased By ▲ 1.15 (1.26%)
UNITY 27.47 Increased By ▲ 0.22 (0.81%)
WTL 1.67 Increased By ▲ 0.04 (2.45%)
BR100 6,815 Increased By 167.1 (2.51%)
BR30 24,245 Increased By 677 (2.87%)
KSE100 66,224 Increased By 1505.6 (2.33%)
KSE30 22,123 Increased By 529.1 (2.45%)

PPP Sindh president Nisar Ahmed Khuhro has won the Senate seat that fell vacant after the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) disqualified Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf's (PTI) Senator Faisal Vawda for life under Article 62(1)(f) of the Constitution, Aaj News reported on Wednesday.

The by-election on the vacant Senate seat was held today in the Sindh Assembly.

The ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and its coalition partner in Centre, the Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P), had announced to boycott the election.

“Sindh Chief Minister Murad Ali Shah also disqualified on dual nationality and his case is still pending with the Supreme Court,” PTI Sindh President and Federal Minister for Maritime Affairs Ali Zaidi said in a Twitter post on Tuesday while explaining his party's decision to oppose the polls.

Earlier, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) said that PPP’s Nisar Khuhro, PTI’s Agha Arsalan, and independent candidates Ali Ahmed, Gul Mohammad Jakhrani, and Mukhtiar Damrah will take part in the by-election on the vacant general seat in the Senate from Sindh.

PPP nominates Nisar Khuhro for Senate seat

Last month, ECP had disqualified PTI Senator Faisal Vawda over concealment of his dual nationality at the time of contesting the National Assembly election on a Karachi seat in the 2018 elections.

A three-member ECP bench headed by Chief Election Commissioner Sikander Sultan Raja comprising Nisar Durrani and Shah Muhammad Jatoi had reserved the verdict last year in December on applications seeking disqualification of Vawda for allegedly concealing the information about his dual nationality.

The petitions argued that Vawda was a dual national at the time of filing his nomination papers to contest the 2018 general election.

ECP disqualifies PTI's Faisal Vawda in dual nationality case

The petition added that the PTI leader had submitted his nomination papers to the ECP on June 11, 2018, and had allegedly applied for renunciation of his US nationality after that.

The petition also argued that Vawda had made a false statement on oath in the affidavit given to the ECP and hence should be disqualified under Article 62(1)(f) of the Constitution, which means the PTI leader will not be able to contest elections again.


Comments are closed.

PPP's Nisar Khuhro wins Senate seat vacated by Faisal Vawda

Govt seeks to cure Sino-Pak trade imbalance

Independent directors’ selection: SECP directs cos to exercise due diligence

700.7MW hydel power project: Chinese co urges PPIB to grant extension in financial close

SIFC panel for single authority to manage all SEZs

IMF scheduled to consider first review of $3bn SBA on Jan 11

Police force needs to improve its image: PM

China, Saudi to expand trade and investment cooperation

Gaza ceasefire: UN’s failure to adopt resolution disappoints Pakistan

Egyptians head to polls in election overshadowed by Gaza war

US okays small ‘emergency’ sale of ammunition to Israel